The 36-th Badminton Yonex Polish Open has succesfuly come to an end.

As first time organizers we had to put in many hors of work to make this event happen.
Most of these hours came from tournament director Maja Muszynska who made it happen, but missed a few good nights of sleep while doing it. But it was worth it,as the tournament itself was a blast!!! During the period of Polish Open everything seemed to be in place. Starting with the beautiful warm and sunny weather (almost 20 degrees Celsius), the spectators that came to support all the players and most of all some really interesting matches that we were witnessing.

What will stay in our minds is the pure strenght of Vladimir Ivanov, great shape of top seed Pablo Abian who never looks even a bit tired and of course a brilliant touch and flowless play of our winner HSU Jen Hao.

On the womens side of course the fast developing talent of our 18-year old finalist in Neslihan Yigit and the experience and self confidence of Japan's Ai Goto.

Polish fans that filled pretty much all the seats during the day of finals could be a bit dissapointed that their favourites Michal Logosz and Adam Cwalina did not come through in the end, but not many of them knew that Cwalina had some back problems throughout the tournament and showed great courage just by getting into the finals and giving his best every day.Of course their final opponents in Vladimir Ivanov and Ivan Sozonov performed really well during our event and deserved to lift up the trophy.

Women's doubles and mixed doubles draws were dominated by the favourites.
Both competitions clearly had one team that was standing out over the rest.England's teams of Mariana Agathangelou with partner Heather Olver and Nathan Robertson with Jenny Wallwork showed that the top seeding was not an accident and prooved with no doubt who was the best team in the Championships.

Once and again form our stand point the 36th Badminton Yonex Polish Championships event was a success and we are looking forward to possibly hosting the event next year!!